Computer Science for Kids 8–12

Matt Livingston
4 min readDec 27, 2022

--

I always seem to get asked the same question. Why in the world are you still running after school classes, camps, and clubs? Aren’t you a director or something in real life? How do you have time?My answer is always invariably — the kids.

Over the past 4 years I have met hundreds of kids through CodeForce. And I admit that to my “competitors” hundreds of kids over 4 years would be considered a failure. And if my goal was to franchise all over the globe, then I may agree with them. But my goal is different. I want any kid who wants to learn STEM to be able to, regardless of financial situation. We do free events and scholarships. We charge only what we need to pay for classrooms and equipment. And its never enough. My wife and I have invested thousands of dollars each year to keep this passion project alive.

Still, I am asked — why? Because it’s important. We go beyond coding to learn hardware, devices, science, and more. But at the end of each day, coding is a crucial part of all of it. I mean, its right there in our name. And until Computer Science is formally taught in our schools we will need to continue to provide opportunities like CodeForce to as many kids as possible, regardless of their financial or social situation.

Why Not Just Use Apps at Home?

Great question. And like most things, there are some really good ones and some really bad ones out there. The major difference, from my perspective, is that using a mobile app or online web app doesn’t allow the child to interact with other like-minded kids…in a safe space. This is a crucial part of the CodeForce experience. Another part of the experience, is playing the games and devices you build with other kids and playing theirs. This makes the process of learning more real. Plus, I can’t tell you the number of parents I’ve connected because the kids wanted to get together outside of our classrooms.

Why Learning to Code Is So Important?

There are many reasons why it is important for kids to learn to code. Here are a few:

  1. Coding helps kids develop problem-solving skills. Coding requires kids to break down complex problems into smaller, more manageable pieces and then think critically about how to solve those problems. These skills are important in any field, not just computer science.
  2. Coding can help kids develop their creativity. Coding allows kids to create and build their own programs and digital products, which can be a great outlet for their creativity.
  3. Coding can help kids build confidence. When kids successfully complete a coding project, it can boost their confidence and help them feel more capable and capable of tackling other challenges.
  4. Coding can help kids develop important career skills. In today’s increasingly digital world, coding is a valuable skill that can open doors to a wide range of career opportunities.
  5. Coding can be fun! Many kids find coding to be a fun and engaging activity, which can make learning more enjoyable.

Overall, learning to code can be a valuable and rewarding experience for kids, helping them develop important skills and opening up new opportunities for them in the future.

How are you different from other “Coding Schools”?

Well, first off they don’t have me. I’m joking of course, but only just a little. I teach all of the classes and camps. I don’t print out step by step guides for them to follow while I drink coffee. I don’t use basic browser based tools. I use real tools (some I even use at my “day” job) that kids can get their hands on at home to continue their learning journey.

Some of the tools and languages we use:

These are all tools that are available for the kids to pick up at home or free online. But the important thing is that they love them already — so getting them to learn Computer Science topics such as coding is super easy because they learn and laugh at the same time.

Investing in our Community

https://www.codeforceoswego.com/

Who knows how many kids that come through CodeForce will end up in Computer Science. At the end of the day, it doesn’t matter. The skills they learn here will help them in all aspects of their lives. Critical thinking and breaking problems down to smaller, more manageable pieces are useful skills. We ask our kids to demo their code to help them practice presenting in front of groups. These skills transcend Computer Science.

My wife and I are investing in the kids in and around Owsego-land. Does it cost us some time and money? Yes. Is it worth it?Without question.

--

--

Matt Livingston

Sr. Director of Engineering @ Cision. Educator @ CodeForce. Father. Husband.